2 Comments

How are your parents doing?

ForKayMany people ask this of me and I am pleased to share that my parents are happy. I know that my parents are not going to get better, this is a possibly a very long slow road of decline, but for now, I have a positive response when asked.

On my last visit, my mom had actually created a mail pile for me that included a bill and a check. She even put a label on the pile for me (see photo). Typically, I arrive at their apartment and as we are chatting, I will slowly wander around, pick up and sort through piles of mail, envelopes, papers and magazines.

I bring a large purse and casually drop in bills, magazine renewals and requests for donations that I find. Typically, the most important papers are in my parent’s bedroom — but I wait for an invitation to enter. On a weekly basis there is usually a reason my mom wants me to help her with something in the bedroom.

I will continue to respect their independence and tread lightly. It seems the less I push, the more they offer. Discovered.

 

2 comments on “How are your parents doing?

  1. Always tricky to know how to answer that “How’s your Mom doing?” question. But so sweet of people to ask.

  2. Very true. I grew up moving all the time. I now have roots in my hometown and many friends and am happy to know they care! I’ve learned so much on this journey … and know I have a lot more to learn.

Leave a Reply

